Certification Overview

Thank you for pursuing this esteemed designation—The Certified Eating Disorders Specialist (CEDS), Registered Dietitian (CEDRD), Registered Nurse (CEDRN),  and Creative Arts Therapist (CAT), awarded by the International Association of Eating Disorders Professionals (iaedp™)

IMPORTANT:  The iaedp Certification Committee introduces updates or revisions to the certification process to maintain the integrity and high standards upon which iaedp Certification stands. These revised forms are mandatory for the Certification Committee review process. Please make sure you are using the most up-to-date forms prior to submitting your application(s). 

Current Contact Information for iaedp:

Telephone and Fax:



   As a proud member of ICE, iaedp stays informed on best practices in developing and administering quality certification programs so we may better serve you. The following information includes checklists, applications and supporting documents for Certifications. (All articles in PDF format and applications are editable for your convenience.) iaedp Certification: Everything You Need to Know  with iaedp’s Certification Director.


General Certification Information:

The Benefits of iaedp Certification
Certification Renewal Application
The CEDRD in Eating Disorder Care
Eating Disorder Nutrition Data Reporting
Communication with Individuals with Eating Disorders: Guidelines for Healthcare Providers
 Medical Management Professionals


Traditional Certification Information:

Traditional Certification Application
Traditional Certification Case Study Guidelines
Traditional Core Course Required Reading List
Certification Press Release Template
Certification Final Exam Study Guide


Supervision for Traditional Certification:

Guidelines for Supervision
Approved Supervisor Application
Approved Supervisor’s Documentation Form
Sample Form for Documentation of a Supervision 
Sample Time Log for Ed Patient / Client Hours
Sample Supervisor:Supervisee Agreement Letter
Approved Supervisor Press Release Template
Approved Supervisor Responsibilities
Search Here for Approved Supervisor

Marketing Templates:

Certification Press Release Template
Approved Supervisor Press Release Template


Certification Committee

Question?  Email certification@iaedp.com                           


Madeline Altabe, PhD CEDS 


Forms/Applications Subcommittee                                

Alli Spotts-De Lazzer, Chair, MA, MFT, LPCC, CEDS-S 



Supervision Subcommittee                                                    

Kari Anderson, Chair, DBH, CEDS-S                                                   

Amanda Mellowspring, MS, RD, CEDRD-S                                                    

Delia Aldridge, MD, CEDS-S                                                              


Special Cases Subcommittee 

Anna Sweeney, MS, RD, LDN, CEDRD-S 

Melissa Spann, PhD, CEDS-S 

Elisabeth Peterson, RD, CEDRD-S 

Michelle Gebhardt, PsyD, CEDS-S 

Medical Subcommittee 

Delia Aldridge, Chair, MD, CEDS-S 

Molly McShane, MD, CEDS 

Joel Jahraus, MD, CEDS-S 


At Large 

Marlena Tanner, RDN, CEDRD-S 

Meredith D'Agostino, DNP, CEDS-S 


Staff Certification Team 
Madeline Altabe, PhD CEDS - Director of Certification Services

Gabrielle Katz, LCSW, CEDS-S - Certification Coordinator          

Millie Plotkin, MLS - Curriculum Coordinator 

Amy Deaver - Executive Assistant 


Honorary Certifications and Lifetime Achievements are awarded by the iaedp Board of Directors and iaedp Certification Committee to individuals for their outstanding contribution to the field of eating disorders treatment.

Lifetime Achievement Award

2019 Honoree: Craig Johnson, PhD, FAED, CEDS

2018 Honoree: Ovidio Bermudez,MD, FAAP, FSAHM, FAESD, F.iaedp, CEDS

2016 Honoree: Roy Erlichman, PhD, LMFT, CAP, CEDS, F.iaedp

2014 Honoree: Emmett Bishop, Jr., MD, FAED, CEDS. F.iaedp


Honorary CEDS Award

2017 Honoree: - Claralicia Martinez, El Salvador, CEDS
2015 Honoree: Leah L. Graves RD, LD, FAED, CEDRD
2013 Honorees: Ron A. Thompson, PhD, FAED, CEDS and Roberta Trattner Sherman, PhD, FAED, CEDS
2012 Honoree: Timothy Brewerton, MD, DFAPA, FAED, DFAACAP, CEDS
2011 Honoree: Margo Maine, PhD, FAED, CEDS
2010 Honoree: Sondra Kronberg, MS, RD, CDN, CEDS 
2009 Honoree: Cynthia Bulik PhD, CEDS
2008 Honoree: Pauline Powers MD, CEDS
2007 Honoree: Leigh Cohn, MAT, CEDS Publisher, Gurze Books
2006 Honorees: Craig Johnson PhD, CEDS and Kathryn Zerbe MD, CEDS



“iaedp Foundation has been approved by National Board for Certified Counselors as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 5912. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. iaedp Foundation is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs.”